International jockeys’ championships in HK

International jockeys’ championships in HK

Jockey Hugh Bowman courtesy of HKJC

A look at the riders in the International Jockeys’ Championship to be held at Hong Kong’s Happy Valley racecourse on Dec 6.


* Ryan Moore

The 34-year-old has won the IJC twice and was world’s best jockey last year. He is a three-time UK champion jockey and has 109 Group One wins.

* Hugh Bowman

Bowman is not only the defending IJC champion, but the 37-year-old was recently crowned world’s best jockey for 2017. The regular rider of Australian champion Winx rode the mare to her record-equalling third Cox Plate win in October.

* Leandro Henrique

The IJC will be the first time the 18-year-old has ridden outside of Brazil. He leads the title race at Gavea Racecourse in Rio de Janeiro.

* Pierre-Charles Boudot

The 24-year-old was France’s champion jockey in 2015 and 2016, with a European record of 300 wins last season.

* Joao Moreira

Brazil’s Moreira, 34, is currently Hong Kong champion jockey and won the IJC in 2012.

* Zac Purton

The 34-year-old Australian is the second-highest ranked Hong Kong jockey and in 2013/14 was Hong Kong champion jockey.

* Karis Teetan

Teetan, 27, is ranked third in Hong Kong and was South African champion apprentice in 2008.

* Derek Leung

The top ranked Hong Kong jockey, 29, boasts the 2016/17 Tony Cruz award and a 2010 win in the Asian Young Guns Challenge.

* Cristian Demuro

The 25-year-old holds the record for the most wins in an Italian season and is a two-time Italian champion.

* Keita Tosaki

Tosaki, 37, has finished third in the IJC in the past two years, is a three-time Japan Racing Association champion jockey, and boasts more than 3,100 wins.

* Silvestre de Sousa

The 36-year-old Brazilian is based in the UK and is the current UK champion jockey. He also held the title in 2015, after winning the Dubai World Cup in 2014.

* Flavien Prat

Frenchman Prat, 25, is based in the US and has won the Breeders’ Cup twice, and in September won three Group One races in one day.

Credit: AAP